John C. Sabo Sr. Memorial Collegiate Scholarships

In honor of John C. Sabo Sr., a longtime supporter of handball and a state open champion in New Jersey, a college scholarship for handball players was established. The Sabo Scholarship was the very first specifically for handball and will go a long way toward continuing the education of young handball players around the country.

Eligibility: For any full-time college student who participates in USHA events, with special consideration for players from the Northeast Region. Applications will be examined, and the intent is to reward students with good academic records who demonstrate financial need.

How to Apply: Applications may be submitted by individuals, coaches or both.  Please send an essay outlining current academic status and course work, handball experience, unofficial transcripts, and how the money would help further the applicant’s education. 

Send to:  Sabo Scholarship c/o USHA, 2333 N. Tucson Blvd. Tucson, AZ 85716

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (Please include "Sabo Scholarship" in the Subject Line).

Deadline: December 31st of each year. 

The scholarship committee will select winners and announce them at the USHA National Collegiate Championships.

Here are all previous winners:
2020: Jonathan Gutierrez, Kouichi Saito
2019: Christina Pecaut, Esteban Camacho
2018: Julie Huestis, Chandler Straw
2017: Ricardo Palma, Juan Leo Canales
2016: Sandy Ng, Nathaniel Frank
2015: Angel Marquez, Anthony Collado
2014: Shannon Strand, Megan Heibel
2013: Matthew Chu, Robert Lee
2012: Eric Lee, Steven Zhu, Jurell Bastidas
2011: Lucas Bossung, Eric Brandman
2010: Jack Bossung, Kevin Cui, Derek Alcantar
2009: Andrew Lui, Leo Cullen, Michael Wu
2008: Ken Maldonado, Lindsey Costley
2007: Andrea Parpas, Victor LoPierre, Eric Hillgren
2006: Dutch Lowy, Bill O’Donnell, Jonathan Iglesias
2005: Zach Arem, Mike Mehilos
2004: Edie Kowalkowski, Molly Tilleson
2003: Adam Bernhard, Ivan Ruiz
2002: Roger Hill, Bill Mehilos, Alexis Cloutier
2001: Megan Mehilos, AJ Arem, Bryce Grady
2000: Bill Mehilos, Calvin Lee
1999: Jeffrey Ha, Rob Sandler
1998: Amber Rounseville, Mandy Rounseville,Tom Widner
1997: Priscilla Kojin-Shumate, James Bardwell

Comment (0) Hits: 7036

Sheila Maroshick Inducted to Hall of Fame

By Dan Flickstein

On November 22, 2015 Sheila Maroshick, brilliant one-wall singles star from 1949-1964, was officially inducted into the USHA Hall of Fame in Brooklyn at Chadwick’s Restaurant at 89thStreet and Third Avenue, not far from where she lives with her sister, Eileen.  Eileen was the celebration’s gracious hostess.

Sheila kicked off the festivities with a beautiful prayer she had written many years ago for an assembly program she directed at the junior high school where she taught.  That long ago special program welcomed guest speaker Eleanor Roosevelt, who praised Sheila for her elegant words.  After the prayer Sheila spoke briefly of her handball glory days and of her gratitude for being accepted to the National Hall of Fame.

During the evening attention was called to Sheila’s latest book, The Inquisitive Children, from which all proceeds will be donated to the Make a Wish Foundation.

City Councilman Vincent Gentile presented Sheila with on official citation for her Hall of Fame career, indicating her contribution to the City of New York as an athlete.

Top (clockwise): Dan Flickstein with host Eileen Maroshick and Hall of Fame Inductee Sheila Maroshick. Maroshick blasts a shot in the Inaugural USHA One-Wall Nationals. Flickstein presents Maroshick with her Handball Hall of Fame jacket.
Comment (0) Hits: 5876

Simple Green 2015 US Open of Handball

FOUNTAIN VALLEY, Calif. --  The Simple Green 2015 US Open of Handball and 25th Naty Alvarado Classic featured the game's best in a festival of handball in one=wall, three-wall and four-wall on Sunday.  In a first, players were allowed to enter more than one pro event.  The brackets were filled with star power but slams were hard to come by, even for Paul Brady.  The only Open slam came in the Women's one-wall with Sandy Ng taking two titles on Sunday.   

After Brady (taking one off the back wall in the final), rallied to defeat Luis Moreno in the singles final, he ran into a buzz saw in Armando Ortiz in the doubles.  Brady and Emmett Peixoto looked unbeatable en route to the final but that was before Ortiz caught fire and Vic Perez' stellar right-side play proved too much for the singles stars.  

Samzon Hernandez (setting to blast one outdoors), overcame fatigue to take the three-wall singles over Victor Duran. 

Timbo Gonzalez beat Tywan Cook for the one-wall singles but also came up just short in the three-wall doubles with Braulio Ruiz in the final against Gilbert Rosales and Manuel Arreola. 

The Festival featured great play in all versions and all age groups.

Comment (0) Hits: 4701

2015 Milwaukee Handball Classic

WEST ALLIS, Wisc. -- "Luis Moreno OWNS the Milwaukee Classic," declared tournament director Charlie Keller.  Nobody could get the best of Moreno at the Wisconsin Athletic Club as he slammed for the second year in a row, defeating Sean Lenning (16), 4, 6, in singles and winning the doubles with Emmett Peixoto, 12, 17, over Lenning and Nik Nahorniak.

Read More Comment (0) Hits: 2531


Page 10 of 10